Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: dynon transponder

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default dynon transponder

    Do I need to create a Pin on the VPX for the dynon transponder (skyview) or does it operate via the skyview?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    669

    Default

    The Dynon installation manual shows transponder power coming from the aircraft power bus (VP-X).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    got it..thx Marc. By the way great planning tool you have put together. Certainly helping a novice like me to plan my electrical stuff, (and may have very well sealed me on buying the vp-x) great product, thanks again

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ramona, CA
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Is there a way to use the airspeed from the Skyview to automatically turn on the transponder power? I know this is possible with the flaps.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    669

    Default

    There is a feature that disables the flap down switch above a specified airspeed.

    We do not have a feature in the VP-X that can switch devices on and off based on airspeed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Sweeny, Tx
    Posts
    8

    Default

    The Manual shows that the transponder must be connected to system power. I want to go with all soft switches. What happens if I connect radio and transponder to the VPX unit?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    669

    Default

    I'm not sure I understand what you are asking.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    39

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Peterson View Post
    The Manual shows that the transponder must be connected to system power. I want to go with all soft switches. What happens if I connect radio and transponder to the VPX unit?
    This may be the answer you're looking for ? ---

    Yes, connect radio and Transponder direct to the VP however you can still use the 'soft switches' to turn them off/on via the external switch input on connector J2, or you can use 1 of them as an avionics 'master' switch to turn them all on or off, see page 35 of the manual rev 1.3 - note you assign the devices to an external switch in the setup menu.

    HTH

    Jake J

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Sweeny, Tx
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks, I want only one switch, the Avionics Master. Want everything to come on with that.
    What had me confused was that the manual said that the xponder had to be connected through a breaker to Plane power.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    32

    Default

    I think you can consider all of the power pins on the VP-X to be similar to breakers (or smart breakers). So if a device calls for a breaker (or fuse) any of the VP-X power pins will do the trick.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    669

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Roger Peterson View Post
    Thanks, I want only one switch, the Avionics Master. Want everything to come on with that.
    What had me confused was that the manual said that the xponder had to be connected through a breaker to Plane power.
    Can you tell me where it says that?

    Since the Dynon AHRS, engine monitor and other modules connect directly to the display for power, we've had some customers think that the transponder connects to the displays for power. It does not. It connects to the power bus. Either directly to a VP-X power pin, or for old-fashion wiring it goes to a breaker and power bus.

    Hope that clarifies it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Sweeny, Tx
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Marc, I got your manual and the Dynon manual mixed up. The Dynon Manual said it had to go direct to the Main Buss and I thought I was in the Vertical Power manual.
    I now have them in two different binders.
    Never did like reading instructions.
    Thanks for being kind to old people.

    Rog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •